Better Person for the Next…

One of the best things you can do for someone is help them grow into a better person for the next person. As hard as it is for me to say this, I truly believe it’s rewarding to know you helped convince someone to be more of a man than he was for you for somebody else. Unfortunately, there are a lot of trial and errors in relationships, but the honest truth is, it may be hard to accept but it may not even be about you. People recognize at some point in the relationship whether the person is good for them or not and sometimes people hold on for all the wrong reasons. If the person is no longer giving you the type of love you desire and need, but you live in fear that if you let them go that they will move on, let them go. This is the best thing you can do for them and yourself. The truth is, more than likely you both taught each other valuable lessons that you can carry on to the next relationships that walk into your life. I have mentioned this in a previous post, but timing is everything and I truly am a firm believe that God places people in your life at certain times and removes them after they served their purpose in your life. I’m not saying to cut ties and no longer speak to that person, but understand the boundaries you set in place for that person.

One of the best things I did for someone is let them go. I dated someone years ago who talked to me about marriage and wanted a life with me, but I knew deep down that what he wanted wasn’t what I wanted at that time of my life. I finally let him go and two years later, he married the girl he dated shortly after we broke up. I was happy for him. I was genuinely happy that he married someone who is better for him than I was. He married someone who can love him more than I ever could. It’s all a matter of perspective. You helped him become a better man for someone else. You taught him to treat her the way she needs to be respected. You taught him to love her with the type of love that she needs. In return, he taught me how to not live in fear of the unknown. He taught me how to let go. He taught me to not settle for something out of comfort. He taught me to be a better person for the next person. I’m forever thankful for the valuable lessons that come from all the wrong relationships.

Leave a Reply

